Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

The utility authority shall have a board of directors composed of seven members with one representative from each of the Tribal public water systems of Requa, Terwer, Wautek, Ke’pel, Kenek, and Weitchpec, and an “at-large” representative that does not drink from a public water system. In the event that a new public water system is added or created, a member from the new public water system shall be added to the board of directors. The members of the board of directors do not have to be enrolled Yurok Tribal members, but users of each drinking water system. However, the “at-large” representative must be a Yurok Tribal Member living in one of the seven Tribal Council districts, but not a user of the Yurok public drinking water systems. Initial members of the board of directors will be nominated and appointed by Tribal Chair with advice and consent of Tribal Council, and one representative appointed by the Chairperson of the Tribal Council. Thereafter, members of the board of directors will be elected by users of the public drinking water systems at the annual meeting. In the event that the number of board of directors falls below the four members required for quorum in YTC 25.10.110, the Tribal Chairperson may appoint members to fill the unfilled position(s) arising in YTC 25.10.070. [Ord. 71 § 1205, amended, 1/21/2021; Ord. 66 § 1205, amended, 2/6/2020; Ord. 55 § 1205, adopted, 2/21/2019.]